Whole Grain Pancake Mix

Most mornings I wake up and throw together some pancakes for breakfast. During the winter I use dried fruit but during the summer months I love to use fresh blueberries. After many months of measuring out the dry ingredients morning after morning, I decided to premix everything to cut down the daily prep time. I know different people use different key ingredients in their pancake mix like shortening or other fats, but personally I believe your body does not need the added oils and that pancakes can bake up fine without them. After making the mix, refer to my Whole Grain Pancake post for instructions on utilizing the mix.

Whole Grain Pancake Mix

Whole Grain Pancake Mix

Ingredients:

4 c  Whole Grain Flour of Choice (I typically use 2 c Whole Wheat Flour + 2 c Whole Grain Spelt Flour)*

1 c  Oatmeal (Whole, grouts, or flour)

1 c  Flax Seed Meal

1/3 c  Chia Seed Meal (or more Flax Seed Meal)**

2 tbsp  Baking Soda

1 1/2 tbsp Baking Powder

2 tbsp  Ground Cinnamon

1 tsp Ground Nutmeg

1 tsp  Sea Salt

*Gluten-Free flours can be used with success. I personally am not gluten-free though many of my recipe turn out gluten-free or can easily be adapted to be gluten-free, so I do not have a real handle on the proportions of what flours and starches should be combined to give a similar texture that the gluten gives wheat flour, hence I am not going to give proportions to make this recipe gluten-free.

**Chia Seed Meal – I have only found this in stores once, so I typically run some whole chia seeds through the spice grinder or food processor and make my own.

Directions:

  1. Combine all the ingredients in a lidded container.
  2. Stir or shake to mix. If any of the ingredients are clumped, like the baking soda or baking powder, make sure to break up the clumps.
  3. Store in an air tight container at room temperature for up to a month or in the refrigerator for up to four.
  4. For directions on what to add to the mix to make pancakes see my Whole Grain Pancake post.

ENJOY!!!

Yields: 12 (1/2 cup) servings [mix without add-ins]

Calories Per Serving: 241  /  Total Fat: 6.6g  /  Protein: 9.6g  /  Carbs: 32.6g  /  Fiber: 10.4g  /  Sugar: 0g

2 thoughts on “Whole Grain Pancake Mix

  1. Pingback: Whole Grain Pancakes | Home Ec. In A Box

  2. Pingback: Whole Grain Sweet Potato Pancakes | Home Ec. In A Box

Leave a Reply

